I ♥ Candy Cosmic Carnival Cupcakes ☾✧

NP: Lost In Space — Lighthouse Family

I’ve always been fascinated with the majestic colorful beauty of the aurora and the cosmos — they are not just some topological space elements. To me they are the universe’s DNA, an astronomical imprint of evolution. They are heavenly storehouses, containing  the records of the development of the universe over millions of years, and bearing the indelible memory of the powerful forces that shaped it…

A few weeks ago, my favorite Youtube icons Michelle Phan made this cosmic inspired tutorial with her friends and Eugenie Kitchen made a video of yummy tie-dye rainbow donuts. I was just so hooked that it inspired me to get really creative with this fascination of the celestial images.

I literally ended up making my own version of the cosmic space, but this time with what I love the most — CUPCAKES!

Here’s the list of ingredients and procedures:

For the cupcake batter
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup cake flour
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon iodized salt
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 cup evaporated milk
1/4 cup water
1 egg
food coloring in 6 different hues (I used Wilton)

For the buttercream
1 cup shortening
2 cups powdered sugar
1 tablespoon milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350°F.
In a large bowl, mix the dry ingredients together until well combined.
3  In another bowl, combine the wet ingredients.
Add dry ingredients to  wet ingredients. Mix well with a spatula.
Divide batter among 5 different bowls.
6 Use a toothpick to place a dot of food coloring into each bowl. Mix well using a spoon or spatula.
7 Spoon different colored batter in thin layers into baking cups until three-fourths full.
Bake for 15 to 20 minutes or until set. Let cool on a wire rack.
9  Make the butter cream: In a large bowl, combine shortening, sugar, milk, and vanilla. Using a hand mixer, beat ingredients until light and fluffy. Transfer into a piping bag.
10  Ice cooled cupcakes with butter cream. Icing tip:  To make a variety of cosmic rainbow effects, use toothpicks to swirl the different colors together.

TieDyeBatterBowls TieDyeCupcakesSide TieDyeCupcakeTop TieDyeCupcakeTrio

Bored with the same old cupcakes? You really must try this one, and it’ll surely be worth all the time and effort! Bake it with your family or friends and just have fun while doing it… we did! I was just so glad that my first try on this epic cosmic cupcake wasn’t a fail at all! In fact, it was a hit!

These cosmic inspired cupcakes are, hands down, some of the cutest cupcakes I’ve had in a very long time. They’re so perfect for the summer season too! The fun colors make the cupcakes vibrant (hashtag happiness) – and, frankly, they’re just too cute NOT to eat!

I had such an amazing time baking and catching up with friends after, that I’m hoping I can do more recipe blog projects again soon! What do you suggest? Anyone? 🙂 Sprinkle some lovin’ stardust, and shoot me a message! ❤

x o x o ❤ ❤ ❤

∞ Here’s mine for the cosmic universe ૐ
and I was like… hey Iggy Azalea, I’m so fancy too! Wuht?
IMG_00002

Leave a Reply

